Fewer and fewer people walk on a daily basis What are the reasons and how toencourage them to spend their time walking

The number of people going for a walk daily has been diminishing steadily. Several accompanying reasons for this trend are determined and worth considering to come up with viable solutions which hinder this tendency and to stimulate more and more people to walk.

People might feel demotivated to walk stemming from two prominent reasons. Firstly, it is argued that people have plenty of work to do at the workplace which prevents them from having some spare moments. The only free-from-work period of time they have is at night which is packed with dozens of personal routines so it is hardly surprising that walking is not their best choice. Secondly, many people consider walking as a tedious leisure activity. Other forms of recreation that are justified in taking up such as gym, cooking and so forth due to its immediate results and benefits.

Having seen such reasons, individuals and the government should try to promote walking by adopting some feasible approaches. Raising awareness of walking is one of the best options. For example, the authorities could conduct a workshop indicating some concerning health issues leading from a sedentary lifestyle and how they could be addressed by walking. Besides, some forms of incentive is a good idea to encourage walking. To get the attention of people to walking, several sorts of marathon contest should be carried out, appealing to people by some prizes.

To sum up, while the reasons for walking issues are clearly seen, a promotion of walking should be made by some kinds of competition coupled with a deep understanding of the benefits that walking could bring.