Fossil fuels (coal, oil, and natural gas) are the main sources in many countries. However, in some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy (wind and solar energy) are encouraged. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that many countries use some types of fossil fuels like coal, oil, and natural gas as the most important energy, while several countries are now using alternative sources like wind and solar power. Although using fossil fuels is beneficial to some nations, possible alternatives to the former such as natural energy may offer more benefits.

It is undeniable that the use of fossil fuels can be advantageous to a certain extent. Regarding the former, some natural resources are available underground, which means they can be easily exploited with suitable equipment. By way of illustration, coal is laid down underneath the ground and if people want to harness it, they can utilize the operation of a mineral exploration machine to identify and exploit that type of fossil fuel. Another merit is that a variety of non-renewable energy is of great value in trading and exporting to other nations. This can result in earning profit for the companies and the government, thereby having more money to invest in many innovative tools in order to detect new kinds of natural resources. However, I think that overexploitation of fossil fuels may lead to environmental degradation, in other words, if fossil fuels are overused, these sources may be run out and cause lacking energy. As a result, this cannot be exported and sold to make a profit, which affects economic growth.

In my opinion, the advantages brought about by alternative energy, nevertheless, could far outweigh the aforementioned benefits of some kind of non-renewable sources like coal, and natural gas. From an environmental perspective, these alternative resources are quite friendly. This is because there is a very little amount of emission or even no emission when producing them or running machines that are operated by the use of renewable energy like solar power, and thus, this can limit damage to the environment. Moreover, energy sources like wind power are endless, so they can be used for the long term without worrying about exhausting sources.

In conclusion, using fossil fuels offers benefits for humans. However various advantages can be derived from the development of alternative energy.