Fossil fuels (e.g. coals, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged to be used by some countries.To what extent is this a positive or negative developme

There has been a remarkable increase in the number of countries, which use fossil fuels as an energy source, while another section of the world thinks that renewable energy sources, such as wind and solar should be encouraged. This essay will delve both sides of this view before drawing a reasonable conclusion. I definitely agree that renewable sources ought to be encouraged due to their benefits, such as cleaner environment and their lower prices.

Admittedly, positive implications of natural energy sources are often discussed in terms of two key areas, which are less air pollution and prices. Perhaps the main advantage of natural energy sources is that they are more environmentally than fossil fuels. According to a report published by the New York Times, ordinary cars release 56 meter-cubes CO2 per day, which in turn leads to serious health problems, such as COPD, asthma, and even lung cancer. Secondly, alternative energy sources are cheaper than other sources because they can easily be produced thanks to the sun, winds, and even vawes. Thus, natural sources are useful not only for environment but also for countries’ butgets.

Despite these arguments, negative aspects of alternative energy sources should not be underestimated. Some polar region countries, such as New Zealand and Antarctica are not appropriate to use these energies owing to their locations. A good illustration of this is that Russia can use neither wind nor the sun in order to energy produce because of its geographic location. Furthermore, even though a number of measures have been taken to tackle enormous expenditures of solar energy systems, the problem could not be solved yet. Hence, natural energy sources might be perilous for countries’ economies, therefore, the governments ought to be prudent concerning these sources.

In conclusion, the decision as to whether alterrnative sources of energy should be encouraged must be taken in the context of the entire authorities. However, my personal view is that renewable sources have more advantages than drawbacks because of environmentally friendly and prices.