In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the development of technology, automatic cars without drivers are expected to become more common in the next few years. Personally, I claim the drawbacks beyond some benefits that this tendency brings to humans.

On the one hand, the supporters of driverless point out that there is a decrease in the number of traffic accidents when using the technology. This is because people are usually distracted by some factors such as messages or notifications in the process of driving while the automatic cars are designed and follow a certain system that is unable to affect by any distractions. However, this problem can be addressed if the government put more regulations on driving and the drivers always put all their concentration when taking part in roads.

On the other hand, the dark sides of the driverless seem to outweigh the advantage. One of the major disadvantages is that humans can control and solve problems in emergencies while automatic cars are not designed to handle any sudden issues in all these cases. To illustrate, when meeting the traffic jams, people are able to find another road for traveling which contributes to time-saving; whereas, the driverless cars are set to follow certain roads so the passengers have to wait for a long time until the traffic congestions are finished. Another obvious drawback is that there is a huge amount of money spent on this kind of car. In order to ensure the accurate operation of the automatic cars, there is a need to have periodic repairs and necessary equipment replacement which are so costly.

In conclusion, even though driverless also bring the advantage of the decrease in the number of accidents, I believe the drawbacks are greatly outweighed by the lack of ability to handle emergent situations and money-consuming.