Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

There is a tendency nowadays that workaholics become more common due to the increase in time-working. There are some reasons for this trend, and I am convinced that plenty of effects may be damage to individuals.

One of the primary reasons why people are at risk of becoming workaholics is that employees have ambitions to promote their positions. Due to the competitive labor market, workers are willing to accept heavy workloads as a way to prove their ability and get credibility from their bosses. As a result, their efforts from working longer can be repaid with the higher position in their offices. Another obvious reason is that more time-working means that more salaries and bonuses. This tendency is appropriate with people those to earn a living and support their families.

Extra work hours in long term can cause negative impacts on each individual’s health and their relationships. Working long hours not only results in physical fatigue and may also lead to mental health problems. The hectic schedule all days means that they do not have enough time to take part in any exercises and even the time for relaxing their mental thoughts. In addition, the more time in working, the less time for families or other relationships. Having close-knit relationships is incompatible with long hours at work. Immersing in the extra work can contribute to the lack of communication with others, leading to the break up of some relationships.

In conclusion, promotion in positions and the high salary are the main reasons explain why the tendency of more time-working. It is clear that the consequences may damage the health and relationships of workers.