In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With the increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Instead of working in the office, there is a tendency nowadays that people work directly in their homes due to the development of technology and social media. This essay will analyze some benefits as well as drawbacks of working from home.

On the one hand, flexibility is the first benefit when working at home. Workers have the chance to create their own appropriate timetable without following any strict rules and working hours in the workplace. As a result, the output is enhanced because they have a comfortable working schedule and become less stressed. Furthermore, working at home means that employees are likely to save time and money. This is because commuting a long distance to the office takes a lot of time waiting for buses or traffic jams as well as a huge amount of money for transport fees.

On the other hand, this kind of work also brings several dark sides. Firstly, without supervision from bosses or managers, the productivity of work seems to decrease. It Is viable that employees are faced with procrastinations such as some entertainment activities, leading that they cannot focus totally on their works and finish it perfectly. Secondly, working from home increases social isolation. The workplace provides workers the environment to connect and create the relationship with other people inside and outside their companies. Whereas, it is a difficult problem to keep in touch with colleagues when self-working at home.

In conclusion, while flexibility and time-saving are the main advantages, the lack of productivity and social isolation are pointed out as the drawbacks of working from home. People need to create self-discipline and try to connect with other people if they want to work at home.