Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the advantage and disadvantages of playing computer games for children?

Due to the development of technology, a large number of computers are used, leading to the increasing interest of children in playing video games. There are both benefits and drawbacks in playing computer games, which this essay will discuss now.

On the one hand, there are two primary benefits of playing computer games. Firstly, playing computers games can develop children’s logical thinking skills. Many popular games require abstract and high-level thinking skills in order to win, skills that may not be taught at school. For example, children need to follow instructions, solve complex problems and use logic in many of the games that are currently popular. Such experience will be beneficial to a child’s progression into an adult.Secondly, some supporters of playing excessive games assume that are the forms of relaxation. After a hard-working day, children tend to play games in order to reduce stress and uplift their moods.

On the other hand, with regards to the negative effects, the alarming psychological impact of excessive gaming is possibly the risk of addiction, meaning that children become obsessed with the game and are unable to socialize with other people. This undermines their interpersonal skills and makes them underperform both academically and socially. The other argument against computer games is that they are detrimental to children’s physical health. A sedentary lifestyle is encouraged by playing computer games, whereas youngsters need to take regular exercise. As a result, children who spent plenty of time sitting and playing computer games prone to obesity and having some problems related to eyes, back,...

In conclusion, enhancing cognitive skills and the forms of relaxation are figured out as the merits of playing computer games. In contrast, the risk posed by excessive gaming are threat of addiction and the sedentary lifestyle.