In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.
To what extent do you agree or disagree with that statement?
Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.
Write at least 250 words.
It is common belief that printed newspapers or books won’t be purchased by
people because of the presence of the Internet. However, I do not subscribe to this
statement that no one will buy traditional newspapers or books as they can access
everything to read online for free.
On the one hand, it is difficult to imagine that people would not purchase
newspapers or books in printed versions anymore in the future. An excessive
number of bookworms adore their reading habits with traditional books. Moreover,
the vast majority of middle-aged and older people relish the texture and character
of actual books, and definitely enjoy reading newspapers and magazines for news
updates. Also, they lack technological know-how to download the E-books and
access to the Internet. For instance, The New York Times still generates sizeable
revenue from subscriptions, and is one of the magazines in the United States
currently publishing a daily. Furthermore, a great number of youngsters prefer
reading paperback and hardcover books to reduce eye strain.
On the other hand, there is no guarantee that everyone might read everything
online in a complimentary way. The issue of copyright is causing an excessive
amount of anxiety among individuals, especially among creators of works. Readers
must be purchased e-books or online documents as the same manner that the
printed copies are. This implies they must pay for them, in doing so, they show
respect to authors. The high incidence of infringement of copyright might be
ascribed to reading or downloading e-books and documents for free. This
expresses readers have little regard for the writers.
To conclude, it is my firm conviction that people want conventional books and
newspapers since they will not be able to read everything online without paying a
fee.