Task 2: Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to the university. What are the advantages or disadvantages of their study?

In recent years, it has been increasingly common to see various high school students take a gap year off before going to academic institutions. This trend would create certain benefits but there will also be several drawbacks.

On the one hand, taking some time off to travel and work before starting university life has several noteworthy advantages effects. The primary benefit is that high school leavers might be dedicated to traveling and new experiences, which enables them to explore their fields of interest to make wise educational decisions. For instance, a plethora of organizations and projects are established to welcome those who utterly want to attend to develop life skills and integrate into society, regardless of age, location, ability, and background. Besides, those taking a year off can enjoy an advantage over their peers with problem-solving and task management skills, which might be ameliorated through such experiences. An additional positive is that a vacation allows students to discover a different culture and meet new hospitable individuals. In particular, it is by traveling school leavers are possible to know diverse traditional costumes, customs, traditional foods, etc and communicate with others in adverse languages.

Despite these aforementioned benefits, several drawbacks do exist. The serious disadvantage of spending a year off is that it may discourage students from continuing their study back. Consequently, they almost lack the motivation and element of competition when studying in college or university, and even their ability to work in a face-to-face group can be greatly decreased. For example, various students have a tendency to spend more time alone to relax after the challenging period with tests and exams so that they will become apprehensive and shy if they commence studying in institutions. Furthermore, a great number of students are finding the work environment more financially appealing and less strenuous, as opposed to having to encounter high expectations and pressure in assignments. Because of this, fewer high school leavers these days are likely to have a job or pursue their passion than continuing for higher education. Additionally, the poor cannot afford to pay tuition fees for the universities while the ordinary family or affluent family has enough budget to pay for institution’s fees and other extracurricular activities for their children.

In conclusion, despite the disadvantage relating to educational interruption, I strongly believe that the advantage in terms of academic orientation and skill development is more crucial. Therefore, high school students should be encouraged if they wish.