Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that encouraging the construction of various sports amenities is the predominant method to enhancing public health. While others say that it is more effective to require other measures than just relying on sports facilities. In this answer, I will discuss the rationales behind these two views before showing that why I favor the latter.

On the one hand, people’s health has been abundantly enhanced by the development of sports amenities. To begin with, fitness levels are increasing because more and more people participate in daily exercises and doing physical activities. Consequently, rising in fitness centers, gym clubs gives individuals who love sports more opportunities to improve their health. For example, both children and adults in my neighborhood attend yoga classes, basketball courts, etc in order to keep fit and stay healthy.

However, I side with those who say that the aforementioned approach would bring a minimum impact on public health. This is because increasing the number of sports facilities does not translate to attracting more participants bettering their health. In most cities these days, despite the ubiquity of places that residents can play sports for free, the majority of the population are solely inactive and health problems related to lack of exercise are on the rise. Furthermore, those who paid for an annual gym membership failed to go entirely after just one month because of their full workday. To meaningfully improve the health of the public, each individual should be educated about basic health awareness. A whole host of factors, including affordable access to healthcare, medical treatment, enforcement of food safety, learning about health and fitness, and so on. For instance, when a child comprehends more about the adverse effects of smoking, he might avoid negative habits in his adulthood. Moreover, public campaigns and health protection programs, thus, should be promoted so that people know how to protect their health efficiently.

In conclusion, whilst the investment in sports facilities become the most reliable way to boost public health, I suppose that there are various other methods to support residents’ health.