Government in many countries have recently introduced special taxes in foods and beverages with high level sugar. Some people think these taxes are good while others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Although taxes are the sources of a nation’s revenue, there is argument regarding imposing of taxes on products with a high sugar content. However, I believe that it is necessary to charge certain level of taxes on these types of food and beverages so that government can generate income for overall development and prevent people from becoming obese.

Enforcing extra taxes on high sugar products not only helps to generate government income but also does good for the health of the public. Government can earn extra from such taxes on high sugar content food. Similarly, this initiative will compel people to think why such step is being taken and will make them realize the dangers of obesity, resulted from high sugar intake. Consequently, people will not buy as many sweet foods and drinks as they are consuming right now and will incline towards the healthy lifestyle.

People with enough money, however, are not discouraged to purchase such goods. They still buy such foods and beverages with more sugar despite high price. For instance, people continue to buy cigarette although high taxes are imposed on such goods. So, we can assume that this trend will be the same in case of high sugar foods as well.

In my opinion, I think governments should continue implementing high taxes and discourage people in living unhealthy lifestyle.

In a nutshell, we can say that imposing higher tax rates brings positive changes in the life of people along with benefit to the government. Hence, there is a win-win in this process.