Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A monetary aid is given to old people by authorities to support their living in this period of their life. Some people believe that this kind of support is not acceptable as one should be prepared for this moment by allocating some savings before retirement. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this view due to the slight increase in pensions with time compared to living expenses and the difficulty to compete with youngsters in the job market.

Firstly, When workers reach the retirement age, they often receive a pension which is comparatively inferior to the original salary they used to earn. Therefore, their expenditure should be minimized to adapt to the new financial situation. However, the normal trend is that prices gradually rise and for this reason, they do need to receive financial aid.

Another point to consider is the relentless competition and restrictions in the job market in case they think of being recruited once again. for instance, in some workplaces, low salaries are given to their own old workers when they get hired after pension and in other places, they aren't even allowed to. This adds more obstacles in the way of elderly people to sustain their living standards and consequently requires the governments to support old people's living.

Finally, aged people should not be forgotten after retirement, as the taxes were monthly deducted from their salaries, which were spent for the benefit of the whole country. This means that a certain budget should be dedicated by the government to care for the old people as a way of honoring them for their commitment to achieving the welfare of their country.

In conclusion, owing to the rising living expenses, useful contribution to the country's welfare and the challenging competition in the job market, elderly people should be funded by the government, and by doing so we also give a message to the young generations that they will be honored when they got old, after their long work service for their country.