Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I agree that Government ought to allocate money on constructing railways when compared to roadways as it reduces traffic congestion, air pollution and it is cheaper to travel.

Firstly, by constructing railways would reduce the traffic congestion during rush hours. Most people get to work or studies between 8 and 10 in the morning. Everyone hits the road at the same time and this causes traffic problems in the cities as many office buildings and educational institution are situated in the cities. If any road accident occurs during these busy hours, which would lead to a major traffic problem. In order to avoid these traffic issues, the government needs to increase the number of trains around rush hour as this would eliminate people relying on cars to get their work or post-secondary institution. However, it is the government's responsibility to make sure there are frequent trains to different cities, especially during rush hours.

Secondly, many people use their cars as a mode of their primary transportation as it easier and convenient. This leads to air pollution which causes some health problems. Air pollution has been a major concern in many cities around the world. One solution to reduce this issue is by encouraging people to use trains more often by reducing the cost of transit passes and increasing the parking fee. On the other hand, roadways are better for cyclist as it keeps our environment clean and it also helps people to their daily physical activity.

Finally, train commuters spend less money because they do not have to pay the parking fee for the vehicle especially in the cities as parking fees are skyrocketing for people to afford. In this scenario, it is more feasible for commuters to make use of trains. Adversely, some people start their work early or finish it late night, so they depend on their cars to travel as most trains do not operate late nights and early mornings. The Government should make sure that they deal with this issue by operating trains during non-rush hour as well.

To conclude, I agree that by constructing railways would definitely help to minimize traffic problems, air pollution and saves money.