Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Traffic jam has been such a serious problem all over the world, especially in megacities, since a decade ago. While several ideas have been discussed to fix that trouble, there's an issue of whether governments should invest more on railway systems instead of roads. From my point of view, I am fully support this idea, due to the reason which will be spread out in the paragraphs below.

Firstly, train is a fast and high capacity public transport, which is able to carry a huge amount of humans and loads. Therefore, it naturally reduced the pressure on other means of transport. Moreover, its ticket price is in affordable range and one of the most benefit that train can bring is the guarantee of safety for passengers. For what have been written, I believe that railways network can play a key role in transport system in the near future.

On the other hand, some opponents prefer using road than public transport. Follow their perspectives, a vast majority of commute using vehicles on road, which will put a strain on it. Therefore, the overload in the amount of traffic participants in bottlenecks tends to be continuous stuck. Not only traffic jam, air pollution is also one of the biggest trouble from overusing private vehicles on road. The number of exhaust emissions from gasoline, which cause a costly damage to the surrounding environment, does not have a signal about stopping. Last but not least, road accidents nowadays are one of the common reasons for individual death.

In short, while there is no exact solution for these hot trend problems ( traffic jam, green house gas ), I am on the side that railway system is a decisive factor in inhibition of current transport system problem.