Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people are advocators of railways and argue that government should allocate money for building railways rather than building roads and highways. I believe that light railroad systems are beneficial for cities having traffic problems and pollution problems or high-speed trains are timesavers so I defend railways for these reasons.

As everyone knows our world is polluted by fossil fuels and that fossil fuels are highly used in transportation. On the contrary, railways are mostly moved by electricity. Electricity is one of the greenest fuel because it can be produced by sustainable energy resources such as wind and sun power. Because of this reason, electric powered light rail systems protect our environment as well as create less noise than internal combustion motors. Also, researchers indicate that in the future electricity mostly produced by renewable energy so it had better make investment to railways to protect world particularly in the downtowns where have air pollution.

For the city to city travel high-speed trains are good alternatives to private cars and buses. They are both comfortable and they go many times faster than cars. Thus, railways would save people valuable times without compromising comfort and safety. For example, car driver must pay his attention to road and obey the speed limits whereas this person could drink a cup of coffee or look astonishing views of the mountains on train. Indeed, there is a lot of demand to trains but relatively short railway network and governments' railway investments doesn't meet to demand so the highroods are preferred to go other cities.

For these advantages above the popularity of trains increased but governments are reluctant to spend money on railways. I believe that if scope of railway is widened our world will become cleaner, cities will get rid of traffic problems and preference rate of trains will rise up.