Governments should support care vs finance for retired people. While they should save money when they get older. Discuss both views and give opinions?

People's opinion whether individuals in retirement should have care and financial aid or be self-supported by their own saving money. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why I am more inclined towards the former.

On one hand, senior citizens need to be provided care and financial support, since each of them has certain contributions to society. During their adulthood, they have dedicated all their time and effort to complete a number of tasks to help the public and the whole nation in general. As there will be a little amount of their salaries go into the national fund for the authorities to maintain and develop some community services such as building more hospitals, schools, etc. Furthermore, some people do not have a family, others may be war veterans and have trouble finding work due to physical or psychological impairments. Without the assistance of the government, they will probably have no place to live, no food to eat, and no medical check-up.

On the other hand, I believe that nations ought to encourage ownership of one’s own future since they have been taught to be independent while they were at school. Every individual in society also should save their own money to cover their non-essential expenses so it will not cause a huge financial burden on the state budget. This is due to the fact that how wealthy a country can be, it can hardly satisfy each of their people’s demands, consequently, they will face a lot of difficulties when they need to afford entertainment or new fashion items.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is necessary for the government to assist retirees with money and take care of them while each retiree needs to save certain amounts of money to stay financially independent.