In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that many individuals in some nations are likely to live alone or in tiny family groupings instead of in larger ones. In my opinion, despite a number of inconveniences, this trend should be considered as a very welcome development.

On one hand, critics of living by themselves or with small families tend to point out a combination of reasons. First and foremost, citizens especially youngsters always like to have their own places so that they feel free to do things they want, hence, they access to various types of information on the internet and social networking sites without their parents' supervision. Teenagers can be easily lured into groups of online thugs, which appear frequently on some social media platforms, or violent and sexual images from television. Studies have also shown that people who have fewer relationships will hard to succeed in the future since they have no friends, connections, etc. This will limit their way to success as they are not only allies but also good mentors who lead to a better direction or provide a huge amount of information about a certain aspect that they specialize in.

On the other hand, in spite of the downsides given above, I believe that this trend should be considered as progress. The primary reason is that both parents have to work to support the whole family whereas kids are no longer expected to work. Furthermore, it costs so much to bring children up such as milk, diapers, tuition fees, etc and it is more difficult to raise a large family while having them under control. Take Finland, for example, each family has two to three children on average and some who want to live alone or couples who don't have kids, yet, it is the happiest country in the world for people to live in, according to the New York Times.

In conclusion, I believe that although living alone or in a nuclear family can cause relationship breakdown and bad behaviours in teens, it is a worthwhile development because it reduces stress in parenting and is financially stable for individuals.