In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend.

In the modern world, family topic is a matter which has provoked a considerable debate. There is a wide belief that in many societies, residents in city areas showed their preference for living alone or in nuclear families rather than in large families. From my personal perspective, this trend has benefits and drawbacks.

On the one hand, the idea that people should live alone or in small family units is quite plausible for two reasons. One reason why people propose this is that this life style make them recieve independence and freedom. In detail, the young can choose a house or an apartment wherever they like. In addition, when they own an accommodation, they can decorate as well as buy furniture what they like. Thus, this help people feel happy and comfortable to live and work. It should be also noted that living in a family that has grandparents, parents and children, all members have to make sure benefits of other members. If everyone has different habits, it will be difficult to live together. Take an example, grandfather wants to go to bed early but the nephew goes to home late.

On the other hand, there are some reasons as to why this standpoint should be refuted. Firstly, living in a large family can help residents save money from renting house or sharing electricity and water bills. Secondly, it is logical that people can give help and care about others when living together. To illustrate, grandmother can help parents take care of their children. Furthermore, sharing house chores can make people have more time to work and relax. Finally, there is the lack of land or accommodations when more and more people live alone. This brings a huge problem for government and individuals to solve.

In conclusion, the ongoing argument have convinced me that living alone/ in small family or in large family groups brings positive and negative effects, so choosing how to live depends on people’s different need and conditions.