Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

In the modern world, there is a wide held belief that there is financial wastage on the arts, and instead of that, the authority should invest this fund in other fields. I am against this idea owing to the following grounds.

To begin with, the compelling justification for refuting the aforesaid position is that art is a contributory factor in comprehensive education. In other words, art reflects the heritage of a country and depicts an individual's creativity. Without works of art, future generations can lose significant knowledge sources and hardly access national culture and history. Take Vietnam for example, numerous works of art were destroyed because of wars in this country, so it is not easy to study history and culture in some previous periods. Furthermore, several valuable lessons from the arts show the creator's viewpoint about some significant social issues such as national unity, harmony, peace, and gender-equal. Therefore, the government should allocate the budget to preserve and develop arts.

Another reason as to why the standpoint should be opposed is the national income source from arts. This is to say that arts are part of the culture and over time become the identity of a nation; eventually, arts could be a major of income. To illustrate, Bali is an island in Indonesia, where an increasing number of visitors come annually to experience the combination of conventional values and modern lifestyles. As a consequence, the governments in Indonesia invest more than a third of their budget in maintaining its traditional arts, which returns the country's profits from tourists.

In conclusion, I cannot agree that the government is wasting money on the arts because I believe arts are vital for a nation's development process.