Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, people have to deal with a host of issues, including technological development. There is a wide belief that private companies should have more responsibilities in carrying out and managing scientific inventions than authorities. In the scope of this writing, the pros and cons of this trend will be discussed. Although each side of opinion has its reasons and realities, I am still more convinced that the adverse effects of this problem outweigh the benefits owing to the following grounds.

On the one hand, the main benefit of companies' carrying out and controlling research is that they often respond more rapidly to demand than governments. More specifically, some people who invest money in these companies are greedy to make the most of any business opportunity. Thus, vast amounts of money become immediately available for research of these corporations to maximize profits. To illustrate, since the top priority is to earn money, pharmaceutical companies usually have more motivation to conduct medicines or vaccine research more quickly and efficiently.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the aforementioned advantages are at the expense of greater drawbacks. Firstly, the scientific study of a company is a business secret, whereas the results of inventions should be shared with the public to extend opportunities for numerous further research promotions. Scientific research is conducted and managed by governments can tack the above problem. Besides, unlike private companies, the government usually runs scientific research without profits, such as environmental protection, social equals, vaccines for everyone. For example, the vaccine cost of a private company is usually higher than a government because the government focuses on its people. In contrast, the company focuses on their income rather than helping all citizens. Therefore, it is difficult for most of the poor to access vaccines unless the government carries out and controls them.

In conclusion, despite some positive aspects, I firmly believe that the more harmful elements outweigh them, and the government should have primary responsibilities in research.