Health experts believe that walking is a good exercise for health. However, people are walking less nowadays. Why is this happening? How can people be encouraged to walk more?

Undoubtedly, walking is a good form of exercise and is an effective method for improving and developing the health of all people. But, these days people walk less. This essay will discussed several reasons for such a situation and few ways to encourage people to walk more and more.

Discussing the reasons, the most obvious reason is that, availability of public and private transport vehicles. In this modern era, most of the citizens have their own personal vehicles so instead of walking they prefer to use those vehicle to save their valuable time so they spend more time in more important activities. Another reason is that, increase the street crime. For example, a worldwide survey show that 50% of total crime is street crimes like snatching and robbery and many more. Thatswhy people feel fear to walk on street. Moreover, sedentary lifestyle and technology affect the life of people. Todays, civilians have more effective way of transportation so they shun the walking.

There are several ways to encourage people to walk more and more. The first and foremost one is that, develop separate walking lane for pedestrians. For example, in developed nations, government developed separate walking lane along with road but in developing economy like India, China and other countries not have separate walking lane so government should develop walking lane for pedestrians. In addition, people are less aware about benefits of walking. So, government and some social group come out for this and organise some campaign of awareness of health benefits of walking. To add to this, government should use social media platforms like television, internet and social websites for awareness campaigns.

In conclusion, there are several reasons for people walk lesser today as compared to earlier time and some way of solutions are also there to encourage people for walking.