Hosting international sport events

Some people think hosting a sport event is a good chance for the host country, whereas the others do not think so. In my standpoint, to hold international sport events might bring out both advantages and disadvantages. In the following essay, I would like to examine both sides of the coin.

On the one hand, there is no denying that hosting an international event could bring the host country honor and prestige as it becomes the center of attention globally. As a result, the country itself is assured of a persistent increase in recognition and tourism. For example, Beijing, the capital of China became more popular after hosting 2008 Summer Olympic. Besides, being the host of an international event could also improve the number of employment opportunities for the native. Moreover, the events also support the local economy with a huge income from tickets and telecast rights.

On the other hand, one thing that is of significance is that the host country has to use a large government budget which could be utilized somewhere else to hold the event. The local government has to pay the fee to improve the facilities and security for the host city, which could be a burden for many developing countries. The closest example is Greece, which has fallen into a huge international debt after hosting an Olympic. Furthermore, in the contrast of prestige when hosting an international event, the country might face the negative publicity if thing went wrong.

In conclusion, the cons of holding international sport events are outweighed by its pros.