IELTS essay task 2: Keeping pets

Nowadays, keeping pets in many families is growing in popularity. Some people claim that having a pet offer many benefits, while others are opposed to this idea. My opinion will be discussed in the succeeding paragraphs.

On the one hand, I believe that there are some undeniable perks of pets. Firstly, pets will increase personal safety. Take dogs for example, they can attack burglars and inform the family about suspicious people by barking loudly. In addition, smaller dogs or cats can alert their owners to dangers such as fire or gas leak. Many people could stay alive thanks to the protection from their pets kept in their house.

Another advantage is that domestic animals improve mental health. Everyday anxiety and stress can be greatly decreased by spending time with a pet. For example, teenagers, whose parents are always too busy to spend time with them, consider a pet as their friend who they can play and talk with. Pets also bring some moments of relaxation and mind refreshment, which can solve some emotional problems that people are vulnerable to.

On the other hand, there are some negatives that people should consider. One drawback of getting a pet is the increase in responsibility. For instance, owning a dog requires a lot of time spent, such as taking the dog for regular walks, bathing and feeding it. Besides, large dogs or aggressive pets such as snakes will require special attention and even training to make sure they are safe, especially around children.

In conclusion, there are some negatives of keeping a pet, however, if the owner is aware of his responsibility, I believe that domestic animals can bring huge benefits to the owner.