IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - THE RESPONSIBILY OF GOVERNMENTS AND INDIVIDUALS

There is a common belief that governments and corporations are the only organizations that can enhance the environment, and individuals do not have responsibility for it. I reckon that all of them have contributed to the improvement of our environment, so I do disagree with the one-sided belief mentioned.

Firstly, powerful corporations could build a green space surrounding their workplaces, providing the employees with fresh air as well as cutting off the amount of electricity consumed monthly. However, we can not deny the significant roles of individuals in preserving the habitat. They are gradually aware of the importance of the environment, which leads them to grow more and more plants as the way that big companies do. For example, citizens in Singapore are taking advantage of their roofs to grow vegetables that could clean the air and provide them with food as well.

Secondly, not only do governments have the ability to solve the problems related to our environment, but also individuals could take action to do it. They hardly improve the environment on their own without the help of their citizens since there is no point for governments to enact a rule that is not followed by individuals. For example, although the government in Vietnam has allocated a load of money to improve the environment, there is still a lot of waste plastic and litter which are thrown away in public areas.

In conclusion, although governments and powerful corporations have a larger responsibility for preserving the habitat, nobody can deny the significant roles of individuals. We need to join together in the fight against pollution to conserve our habitat, regardless of governments, powerful companies, or individuals.