If a product is good or it meets people’s needs, people will buy it. So advertising is unnecessary and no more than entertainment. Agree or disagree?

There is a common concensus that buyers make their purchase based on demand, therefore the role of advertisements are inessential. I mostly object to the view as the marketing strategy renders people familiar with and furnishes the public with quality and functions of advertised offerings. Even though overexploitation of advertising may have negative implications upon a product, its merits would overshadow the demerits.

Repetition of advertisements entrenches impression of product and service in consumers’ minds. A prime example is that when a random advertising clip appear on a television, the product’s images and uses will be embeded unconsiously in viewers’ head. This gimmick will play out when people go to a store where the same product is stocked, at which its appearance is a reminiscent of the propagated product would steer people toward selecting it.

Another reason why I believe that advertising is beneficial is that it indirectly flaunts values of goods and services. Not only the product’s name but also its message, philosophy, and standout features will be circulated simultaneously which helps manifest the brand identity. In the long run, the utilization of advertisement as a marketing channel will empower brand awareness which facilitates new product launch, fosters customers’ loyalty, and market penetration.

Admittedly, the abuse of advertising approach takes a toll on businesses. If advertisements are executed without creativity, they may bore their customers, making them abhor the products. Once case in point is that the repetitive and monotonous utilization of cold calling from investment banking firm, by which brokers quickly make their listeners disappointed with same calling patterns. However, the calling technique can be harnessed as an effective way to take care of clients.

In sum, I almost disagree with the notion that advertising is futile in order to seduce people into buying what they crave for. Avertisements familiarize people with new products and spur brand images. Even though out-moded marketing instrument such as cold calling may plague companies’ effort, it can be deployed to look after for people who have already made their purchases. Thus, the outpost of advertising is still of prime importance.