Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a third world problem.However it is becoming apparent that in countries such as the USA and Australia, illiteracy is on the increase.

Actually, illiteracy affects to an important part of the world. Many countries are facing this common issue since centuries. The lack of interest of the government is the main cause of the existence of illiteracy. Too many distractors are the principal consequence of illiteracy to many places. Unfortunately, poor countries are the most common places that face this problem. However, recent studies by scholars indicate that is not only a third world problem. Surprisingly, they have found that in the first world, the illiteracy have been affected to many individuals. In the following essay, I will give some possible reasons to explain this trouble.

First, many governments show lack of interest in important areas on their places. For example, they provide less economic support to the field of education. Many institutions are closing their doors, because the decrease of funds. Instead of providing resources to these fields, governments are spending time and financials to companies, in order to win high status, and obtaining high reputation with other nations. For example, I live in Mexico, and the government is mainly interested to have a commercial trade with other nations. As a result, our country is facing a big trouble in security, education and other public needing. As a result, many people in our society could not get a high academic status and too many kids do not go to school. Therefore, they are facing the illiteracy problem.

Second, the war of commerce in the first world is the principal target to people who lead those countries. For example, in United States and Australia, many studies revealed that the rate of illiteracy is increasing rapidly. I suppose that the main issue is because those leaders are trying to gain economic power, and as a result, they are avoiding important areas like education. Moreover, this evidence could explain why many people, nowadays in those countries are facing this phenomenon.

Finally, I can state that illiteracy is being existing since centuries. Nevertheless, we are living modern times, and it is hardly to understand why we are still facing this issue. Thus, big societies should pay attention to solve this problem, putting aside the government and politicians as well.