The impact that growing demand for more flights has had on the environment is a major concern for many countries Some people believe that one way to limit the number of people traveling by air is to increase taxes on flights To what extent do you think th

Air transport is the most comfortable and fastest mode of transportation from one place to another. However due to its adverse effects on environment, some people believe that imposing tax on flight users could reduce the number of frequent flyers and the flights. I do not agree with this statement completely. This statement has more disadvantages than the advantages it can provide.

To begin, with levying tax, reduces the number of official travels and these people could find other ways such as video conferences for their meetings and proceedings. Contrastly, it has an impact on tourists traveling for vacations and could adversely affects the countries or peoples depending on tourism as their economic backbone. Levying tax adds burden among people seeking flight for emergency health needs. Also, it creates shortage in movement of goods and cargo from one country to another. Overall, when the frequent flyers drop in number, it creates unemployment and pay cuts for those who are related with air transportation and aviations.

In conclusion, instead of proposing levying tax scheme, measures such as reducing the charter flights, maximizing seat occupancy before departure, imposing tax for personal charter flight users, monitoring and maintenance of optimal emission from the flights and use of biofuels could help to preserve the environment from adverse effects of flights.