The importance of biodiversity is being more widely recognized as increasing numbers of species come under threat. What can be done to maintain biodiversity?

In recent years, plants and animals at risk of extinction have increased dramatically. People are now understanding the importance of biodiversity. For this reason, many efforts have been made to preserve nature and maintain balance in the ecosystem. In this essay, there are some solutions that can be done.

The first approach is the government must pass laws and prohibit activities that caused environmental degradation. The amount of toxic chemical waste that produced by factories and released in nature should be controlled. Another feasible action is to apply strict and standardized regulations for waste purification in combination with regular inspections of these industrial facilities. Animal hunting for commercial purposes and entertainment should also be banned. For instance, in Africa, hunters could pay money to be allowed to shoot down lions and elephants, which are dying out in number at alarming rates.

The most effective solution is to educate people to obey the rules and protect the environment. The government can bring to people a good knowledge by media, holding conference and seminar. Students in school and colleges should also be taught how to protect flora and fauna. I believe that these steps create people's awareness and active participation in environmental protection and show its results in a longer run.

An alternative strategy would be to do more investment for more research to maintain rare species. In this way, it is possible to save some endangered species. However, in absence of good implementation plan, this policy may not provide desired results.

To conclude, more efforts must be made to preserve the biodiversity and it requires the participation of the public and the government.