The increase in tourism is causing environmental problems. What problems has tourism brought to the environment? What can be done to solve these problems?

Because of the rise in tourism, environmental issues are increasing. While these problems are causing severe damage to the environment, there are a number of solutions that could help mitigate these issues.

With regards to the problems, the increasing influx of tourists leaves a great amount of litter that cannot be processed and recycled in a timely manner. Take the beaches of Dahab, as an example. During summer times, tourists’ plastic litter is disposed on the beaches and in the sea, which in turn destroys the marine life and the Red Sea corals. Additionally, this increasing influx of tourists adds stress to transportation systems, whether it is air, rail, or land transportation. This results in more carbon pollution as more fuel is consumed, which effectively contributes to global warming.

Turning to the solutions, it can be argued that the government can play a major role in enforcing them. Firstly, the government can impose severe fines on those who pollute the environment such as the beaches for instance. This may deter the tourists from disposing their garbage on the beaches. Secondly, the government can spread awareness about the impact of environmental damage caused by the tourists. This will help tourists understand the consequences of their damaging behavior, and thus prevent them from pursuing it further. Finally, in extreme cases, the government can resort to regulating the influx of tourists themselves in order to relieve stress added on transportation during peak seasons. Therefore, this can help in decreasing the carbon pollution caused by excessive fuel consumption.

In conclusion, tourism plays a big role in polluting the environment because of excess wastes and carbon pollution; however, government regulations and education can help in saving the environment from further damage.