The increase in tourism is causing environmental problems. What problems has tourism brought to the environment? What can be done to solve these problems?

Nowadays, vacation industry is getting more and more developed. Thus, that impulses the growth of region, but it is also the cause of ecological destruction. So, in this essay, I will shed some light on the reason of this damage and suggest some solutions.

Tourism can have a negative impact on the environment. Excessive building, such as roads, hotels etc., destroys natural habitats and spoils the landscape. Travel business also creates traffic congestion, pollution and waste. It puts pressure on local resources such as food, water and energy. Besides, the air traffic leads to global warming, as airplanes destroy our ozone layer through greenhouse gas emissions. Furthermore, overtourism brings about problems of waste disposal, waste thrown away by tourists and improper disposal facilities made by tourist organizations. For example, we often see images of Paris, Beijing or even Mount Everest that are ruined by trash on television or social network.

There are some solutions that need be done to reduce the impact of holiday business on the ecosystem. Firstly, we should show visitors how they can be responsible tourists with events, leaflets, information centres, guided walks and events, signs and websites. Secondly, the government is up to encourage visitors to leave their cars behind and use greener travel, like bikes, buses, boats and trains, inspire small-scale renewable energy schemes, like wood chip boilers and solar panels, with planning policies and grant funding and reduce erosion by creating and repairing footpaths. Furthermore, outdoor activities that don't damage the countryside or harm wildlife should be supported. Last but not least, each locality should limit the tourist numbers in precious places.

In conclusion, the quickly increase of tourism affects harmfully to our environment and we must find methods to limit and control this problem to protect our planet.