An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There are more people having plastic surgery to elevate their appearance. I believe that this is a negative trend among individuals and the reasons behind this development will be explained in this essay.

The desire to improve appearance through cosmetic surgery can result from two factors. The first factor is related to individuals’ wishes to have a better appearance, so that they can boost their confidence. For example, people with facial abnormalities such as cleft lips can finally smile normally and brightly again with the help of cosmetic surgeons, which is a boost of confidence to them whenever communicating with others. Another factor is due to the everchanging beauty standards in society that force people to follow if they want to be considered beautiful. Therefore, more people choose cosmetic interventions to have similar body types or facial features like celebrities just to fit the trendy beauty stereotypes.

In my opinion, this phenomenon causes problems for people rather than benefits them. Firstly, health risks are potential in the cosmetic surgery industry since some incompetent surgeons can possibly damage clients’ bodies or faces by not guaranteeing surgical protocols. For instance, there are some cases of failed nose surgeries that cause suffocation for clients. Secondly, the trend of cosmetic surgery to improve appearance can lead to insecurities about natural beauty. The more individuals are pursuing the prevailing beauty standard such as the hourglass figure, the more insecure people with other body types might feel, thereby wanting to alter their looks through the help of plastic surgeons in pursuit of external validation.

In conclusion, although the reasons for this trend relate to individuals’ tendencies to become more confident and urges to follow beauty standards in society, I believe that it is a negative development due to the health risks and insecurities about natural beauty it brings.