An increasing number of people change their career and place of residence several times during their life. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days,it is common for people to change their jobs and migrate to different cities. Despite some disadvantages that do exist, I personally believe that this trend can be beneficial to citizens’ job prospects as well as personal life.

Changing career paths can have desirable impacts on one’s professional development. For example, working as a social worker can help people improve interpersonal skills, while working as a researcher allows people to enhance their analytical skills and critical thinking skills. By exploring different careers, individuals will be able to gain knowledge from multiples fields and improve their skill set. Therefore, they will become more competitive in the labor market since they are able to view problems from a different perspective and apply the previous work experience to their current job.

Moreover, changing residential areas can benefit one’s personal development. For example, moving to a foreign country allows people to gain insight into a different culture. People can have a better understanding of their social norms, value system and traditional lifestyles by communicating with the local people, thereby broadening their horizons. With these experiences, they will be more inclusive and embrace multiculturalism.

However, some potential risks may occur when people change their job and living areas. For instance, people may feel isolated after they move to a new city because they may have no friend. Mental health will suffer if they fail to broaden their friend cycle and lack of social interactions. Also, people may perform poorly at their new job because they do not acquire essential expertise and work skills, which can discourage them to pursue their career goal.

In conclusion, I strongly argue that changing one’s career and living places is a positive trend, although it may have undesirable effects on individuals’ personal life.