increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. to what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective.

Air pollution and traffic congestion is becoming the major problem of mega cities throughout the world these days. So this issue has urged government to come up with effective resolutions. Someone claimed that dramatic drop in the price of petrol would contribute to fruitful results. In my opinion, there is no point in this idea, although there are other sorts of mean that would smooth the way for having less traffic jam and air pollutant.

Firstly, it is argued that rising in oil cost could strongly influence the acceleration of soaring quantity of automobile and cleaning the air. Nevertheless, increasing the petrol price solely would not solve the problem. Formerly, implementation of similar problem in some big cities illustrate that even raise in oil price even is not the right solution. Of course, maybe it could refrain people to use their private in short-term, but in case of long-term perspective the plain is thoroughly unsuccessful. For instance, Tehran is known as one of the top-ranking cities that every autumn and winter severely suffer from intensive air pollution. Even the plan of increasing of prices in several steps was not influential and people could adjust themselves finally to provision of petrol.

On the other hand, there are enormous number of way that would be more practical regarding reduction in traffic capacity and pollution. Limiting people to drive car every other day or prohibiting private car from commuting in some determined parts of the city that are overcrowded in some hours daily are other possible way that mentors are unanimous about their impacts. Besides, government ought to unify their efforts in order to inform people about its unforeseen health and social problems. For instance, a TV program is now broadcasting from channel four in Iran every day that ask people not use single passenger car except in urgent. Finally the last policy that would result in making people more obedience to use vehicles more environmentally-friendly is fine. They should be fined for all lawlessness associate with laws that are passed with regard to triggering traffic and air pollution.

To sum up, in my point of view, climbing in the petrol cost could not play a positive role in dropping automobile in street and air pollution reduction. However, they are several other vital procedures that would lead to better city to drive and breathing.