Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?What measures do you think might be effective?

With the growing population comes growing demand to serve larger population. increased population further adds on to increased traffic and pollution issues which the world is currently facing. The solution to this would be to increase the price of petrol which will eventually solve the problem to some extent.

Firstly, with up surging prices of fuel, utilization of private vehicles will reduce and people will opt for government or public transportations to overcome the monetary drain. Increase use of public transportation will further lessen the traffic as lesser vehicle occupancy on road. Secondly pollution will lessen due to decrease demand and also lesser modes of travelling.

Currently, with modernization carpooling is trending in, with more than few individuals sharing a single transport like car for travelling to a common workplace. This is a common trend seen nowadays in Bangalore, due to increased fuel prices. Not only does this save time and creates lesser on road anxiety which most individuals suffer from. Due to variations in prices of fuel, people opt for public modes which are cheaper more individual friendly with lesser accident statistics.

Other measures such as assessing vehicles through emission tests, planting more trees, using electronic vehicles ,banning old vehicles which emit higher range of smoke and taking a walk for nearby commute or a cycle would work beneficially to support reduce pollution. Lastly, stringent government laws for excessive production of pollution should be applied.