Individual greed and selfishness has been the basis of the modern society. Someone think that we must return to the olds, more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People nowadays are criticized as being greedy and self-centered. It is suggested that introducing conventional values of respect in terms of family as well as the local community is the pillar to this phenomenon. I am completely on board with this opinion.

I believe showing our respect to family members and local residents is key to a cohesive society. To specify, due to globalization, nowadays we are inundated with different cultures and backgrounds in one community, and there are great disparities in people’s behaviors and habits even in the same family, which means being ego-centric would easily engender misunderstandings and even trigger conflicts. However, If we can bring back conventional values like respect and try to understand others in our families and communities, there are more chances that those members would feel respected and know we are standing in their shoes, therefore related to us. when a sense of belonging to the family and community is fostered in people, the cohesion of the world would be likely to enhanced.

Some may argue that there is no necessity in respecting families and the local communities, as we are living more independently today. People nowadays tend to live alone and are disconnected with their local communities, so they see no benefit from giving respect to others. However, as the saying goes, no one is an island; people are more or less connected. For example, even though we may not know our neighbours, we would be affected if they are speaking or singing loudly at midnight, which would damage our rest and even work efficiency in the next day. By contrast, we would benefit from a better living environment if everyone is concerned about others in their family or community.

To wrap up, a mutual respect in our family and community is pivotal for a better living environment and a more cohesive world.