individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea that whereas governments and big companies play a key role in protecting the environment, individuals cannot make anything to improve these issues remains a source of controversy. While I accept that governments and large firms have enough budget and power to solve environmental problems, downsides of this viewpoint cannot be overlooked.

On the one hand, when everyone takes responsibility for the impact which they do on the environment, making a big difference. Take china as an example. If everyone in china saves one piece of paper in everyday, nearly million trees can be saved in one day. Furthermore, traffic congestion which lead to air pollution will decrease if everyone use public transport instead of private car. Therefore, we must realize the power of each person and shoulder our own responsibility.

On the other hand, governments and large corporations play an important role in improving the environment. Regarding the big companies, instead of using materials that endanger the environment, they can use environmentally friendly materials to protect environment. For instance, when manufacturers realized that disposable plastic bags harm the environment, they stopped their production and found eco-friendly replacements such as fabric bags. In terms of the governments, they can introduce laws to limit emissions from factories or to force companies to use renewable energy from solar, wind or hydroelectric power. Besides, the authorities can encourage city citizens to use public transport instead of private car by imposing “green taxes” on drivers.

In conclusion, national governments, large companies and individuals must take responsibility in protecting our planet because of our next generation.