Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities.

To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that information technology is now affecting various aspects of our lives and playing an important role in our daily activities. While this development still has its own drawbacks, I think there are far more benefits.

On the one hand, the domination of information technology has had some negative impacts on our daily lives. Through the Internet, people now can perform various tasks by just some simple clicks on the computer. However, it is leading to the problem of people being obsessed with the virtual world and starting to lose interactions in real life. For example, most young adults prefer chatting with their friends on the Internet than having face-to-face conversations. The technology advances also make people become lazier, therefore, affect their levels of health and fitness. More and more people are taking up watching TV or surfing the Internet as their hobbies instead of playing sports or doing outdoor activities.

On the other hand, I believe that the development of computer scienece has made a lot of positive changes to our daily lives. In home activities, technology allows people to do their houseworks in a more convenient and efficient way. Housewives no longer need to go to the supermarket to by groceries and food, instead, they can stay at home and do their shopping on online markets. In leisure activities, we now have a wide variety of entertainments which include high-tech experiences such as multi-dimensions cinema or virtual exhibitions. People also have access to the rich online sources of entertainment and can easily turn their house into a mini cinema or theater. In work activities, the invention of machines makes it easier to do hard labor works and helps increase the productivity of producing goods.

In conclusion, information technology is altering our lives in both positive and negative ways. However, the benefits of this development are undeniable.