International tourism is now more common than ever before Some feel that this is a positive trend while others do not

In recent years, there have been two opposing views on traveling abroad. While some people claim that tourism contributes significantly to national development, others do not agree. In my opinion, whether international travel is a positive tendency depends on the influence that tourists have on that place.

On the one hand, international tourism is seen as a positive trend because it generates employment and stimulates local economy. For instance, the influx of visitors brings about a growing demand for hospitality industry, catering business as well as transportation, and this implies an increasing need for more human resources. Also, most visitors would try local delicacies at high-end restaurants and buy souvenirs; thus, their consumption not merely activates economic growth but also increases tax revenue.

On the other hand, tourism poses a threat to the local environment. Non-renewable resource depletion is the first price people need to pay for this profit-driven business. The overuse of water in tourist resorts, for instance, results in water shortage in local areas while millions of trees have been felled to make way for modern amenities and infrastructure. Even more disturbing, though, is the air pollution that international tourism has caused in many parts of the world. It is reported that a large amount of carbon dioxide released from the air conditioners in luxurious hotels has aggravated global warming.

From my perspective, the issue of whether international travel is good or bad is completely contingent upon the impact tourists have on the place they visit. If tourist activities transform an underdeveloped place into a prosperous one without sacrificing the environment, this can be regarded as a positive trend. Nonetheless, if traveling worsens the problem of pollution or has an irreversible effect on environment, then it should be properly regulated.

In conclusion, both two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that whether travelling abroad benefits both a country and its people is based on the effects tourists have on the place they visit.