International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, it has become more affordable for transnational travel and nations are welcoming a lot more visitors. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On one hand, there are two major drawbacks when countries reduce international travel costs and treat tourists with hospitality. Firstly, tourism can have a negative effect on the environment. It creates a greater amount of pollution and waste since more and more people will go there to relax, explore and have fun. The building of facilities and infrastructure, for example, can destroy the habitat of wild animals and natural resources such as beaches. Secondly, a rise in the cost of living strongly affects the locals, in particular, the price of goods, services, and housing may increase dramatically.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this view is that mass tourism creates jobs for local people and it also makes their site a more exciting place to live. Particularly, it creates employment in services like accommodation, transport and entertainment, therefore, some areas rely on the number of travellers in order to have their income. Another reason is that it attracts investment from multi-national companies so the standard of living will be improved.

In conclusion, it seems to me that although this may bring several downsides for the natural environment and the locals' lives, the returns are highly justifiable as it helps a country to grow bigger and faster.