Internet technology means people do not need to travel to foreign countries
to understand how others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is true that the digital revolution has enabled a growing number of people to gain access
to information about how others live in different countries. While such advances in
technology have made more information available, I only agree in part that this had led to
a greater understanding of the lives of those in other countries.
On the one hand, the tourist trade has experienced phenomenal growth, but this does not
mean that those who visit foreign countries leave with any appreciation of the culture or
living conditions of the local people. Holiday resorts such as Phuket in Thailand are
thronged with tourists at the height of the holiday season. However, overseas visitors
remain completely oblivious to how the local inhabitants live. They experience luxury
hotels, sunbathe on beaches, or at most go sightseeing on guided tours. To know how
people in Thailand live, they would learn much more by watching documentaries or
analytical reports on the internet at home.