It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

As nowadays a year gap before going university has been increasing, discussing between advantage and disadvantage of that is become a controversial issue. Although having a free year before starting education in university helps students find their targets, there are also drawbacks to be taken into account.

Firstly, one benefit of gap between school and university is that students have enough time to seek about fields existed in different universities and the occupations related to them so they can find in what subjects are keener. In other words, they find their interests consciously which give them enough motivate to get down to education. Secondly, having a gap is advantageous because it gives student energy and let go their exhausted which are gained from high school. Consequently they can start first semester of their university very well, which is extremely important to sail through in their education. Thirdly, this spare time gets student the opportunities to become more mature so their conceive is increased as a result they can comprehend the different between high school and university that is effective to their behaviors.

On the other hand, one problem when students have one year off is loosing their gold time by spending more than usual on travelling and entertaining which makes them lazy and cannot enjoy by studying and learning anymore.Therefore they are not only able to chose their goals but also lost themselves and might change their moral and behavior. An other issue is related to their family as in that year parents should pay more attention to their offspring, who spend more time in home, in compared to previous which is definitely tough in order to provide convenient hobbies especially for those are living in poverty.

In conclusion, despite some positive opportunities gained by being one year free for children, it can have some detrimental effects which sometimes might be irreversible.