It is better to raise children in a multi-generational family than in a nuclear family. Do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that children should be brought up in an extended family rather than in a small-size household. Although some people appear to prefer a nuclear family, the benefits of rearing children in a multi-generational one should be viewed as significant.

On the one hand, a multi-generational family brings a great deal of advantage. First, in that big family, children, especially infants, would receive a high-level of care from family members. For example, grandparents could take turns to look after the baby when its parents are swamped with work, which is a weight off its parent’s shoulders. Second, living in an extended family acts as an incentive for children to assimilate valuable life experience from their prior generations. Therefore, they are capable of looking at an issue from different angles.

On the other hand, children rearing in a multi-generational family might be fraught with pitfalls. First, when puberty, a period where a paradigm shift in mentality occurs, sets in for children, they are required to deal with generation gap. For instance, there is an abundance of contradicting perspectives between teenagers and their elders in terms of love; thereby resulting in family arguments which rarely occurs in a nuclear family. Second, the closeness among family members in an extended family is likely to be compromised. In fact, children may find it taxing to turn to someone whenever they encounter any difficulties including major changes in physical health, emotional well-being, which throws them in loneliness or even introversion.

In conclusion, a multi-generational family seems to be a more ideal environment than a nuclear family for raising children. However, family members should take steps to find workable solutions to tackle the generational conflicts.