It has been estimated that all the world's oil could be used up within 40 years if consumption continues at the present rate. What short-term and long-term solutions can you suggest to this problem? Refer to your own country in your report.

Oil shortage is a predicted problem affecting the international energy industry. Many statistics about the remaining oil reserves are published annually and the reserves are able to deplete within 40 years. It seems like the serious problem that the world cope with. As well as considering these issues in general, this report will also examine some short-term and long-term responses to the depletion of oil, with specific reference to Vietnam.

Vietnam petrol consumption was forecast to grow rapidly. According to Business Monitor International, its growth would get more than 3 times the average of the world and rated the forty-seventh all of the nations. Despite Vietnam had a favourable geographic location for the exploitation of fossil fuels in the East Sea, it is still not enough oil to respond to the domestic consumption and Vietnam compelled to import from foreign. It is no doubt about the depletion of petrol in the exploiting areas and the volume of imported oil will increase.

There are several short-term measures which Vietnamese citizens and the government can take to deal with the problem. One vital approach is to increase oil taxes. When the government adjusts the reasonable the taxes, it will become expensive and people would slightly alter the mode of transportation, from private to public transport. Once oil becomes rarely, another solution could be taken is to apply cutting-edge technology. Electric engines, for instance, could replace internal combustion engines which consume a large amount of petrol.

In the long term, there are several measures which Vietnam can take. The vital long-term response is to apply the biofuels that made from corns or soybeans. However, because of demanding the cultivated land, it is impossible for the future when the population will exceed the allowable land area. Additionally, the government should raise funds to research renewable powers, like solar, wind or geothermal that are able to take the place of fossil fuels. If these energies are acquired in practice, the fear of lacking energy would be tackled thoroughly.

To summarize, the short and long-term measures that help Vietnam to cope with the oil shortage are available. Rising fuels taxes and using modern technology seem like the possible solutions in order to solve the problem temporarily. Besides that, figure out appropriate alternative energy could be considered in the future. In my viewpoint, using alternative energy is feasibility and high-effective response to exhaustively deal with the depletion of oil in Vietnam.