It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to. It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

Helping young children to distinguish right from wrong is one of the top priorities of parenting. This type of education is thought to not be done without punishment. While I agree that children need to learn about right and wrong as early as possible, punishment is never the way to lead them to rightfulness. Therefore, allowing children to see the consequences of their actions is a more sensible approach for their young age.

At a very young age, children are usually more flexible to listen to adult’s teaching. This ease in educating them about right and wrong is due to small children’s lack of critical thinking. Therefore, parents and teachers can better influence children on how they think about right and wrong, which helps shape permanent behaviors as they grow up. For example, a child at the age of 5 has a habit of interrupting into adult’s conversations. If parents or surrounding people educate that child about how respecting others when they are speaking, that child is less likely to question the credibility of adults’ words. Once he or she understands the lesson and changes without much opposition that an older child has, a wrong act becomes a good one.

However, using punishment is the worst way to let children learn about right and wrong. As young children’s conceptions about common sense are limited, they need more exposure to the real world to learn from the smallest lessons to bigger ones. This process means that it is very unfair to punish small children for something they are not aware of, and this may leave a negative impact on how they perceive things. For instance, I have seen my cousin’s family use violence on their children when they cut into others conversations. Instead of stopping and lecturing them about why such a behavior is wrong, the parents hit the kids and curse them with bad remarks. The result is that those same children, now older, tend to shout at others that interrupt into their conversations.

Even at a young age, children need to understand that their actions lead to different attitude from others so that they can behave more appropriately. If they behave rightfully, such as greeting adults or showing gratitude to others’ help, adults can express happiness and give encourage comments to allow children to continue doing so. Likewise, parents and teachers can give children the silent treatment or express direct annoyance towards children’s wrong-doings such as calling their name briefly. These subtle ways of treating young children help them pick up small details about right and wrong, and at the same time, they have more motivation to behave well.

In conclusion, early education of children about right or wrong should be a major concern for parents and teachers, but not by using punishment. Due to young children’s lack of understanding, it is easier to influence them positively, and simultaneously, very unfair to punish them for this feature. To let them learn most effectively about this distinction, adults should know how to react carefully to anything children do; encourage if it is positive and vice versa.