It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Nowadays, it is important to teach our children the difference between what is right and what is wrong. One method to do so is to enforce some kind of punishments. I am partially agreeing with this statement and I will argue it in this essay.

Firstly, a child will copy the behavior of his parents until he can make some rational decisions. Therefore, it is important that their parents show him using their conduct and explain him using words the difference between right and wrong in order for him to learn it. The punishments can also work in the moment where the child stops listening to his parents. For example, the mother explained to child that it is wrong to throw food on the floor, but the child keeps doing so. Then the mother tells him that if he continues to do so, he will not be allow to watch cartoons after dinner. As a result, the child might stop throwing the food and start eating it.

Secondly, the parents and also, the teachers have to be very carefully with what kind of punishments they use in order not to backfire at some point in their life. Grounding is the most used punishment because it limits the freedom of the child thus, making him understand that the wrong things have consequences. Another punishment might be taking away one of his privileges such as the phone or the computer for a few hours or maybe a day. Furthermore, using some logical consequences (like: you are late for dinner, then you go to bed without eating) might also do the trick for children.

To sum it up, I believe that some punishments (such as grounding or taking away his phone) might make the child susceptible to understand the difference between right and wrong, but also the behavior of his parents might do so.