It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children need to determine right and wrong when they are in early age. To help them learn about this difference, punishment is suggested as a necessary method. I agree that we need use punishment to educate children but it should be controlled in an appropriate level.

On the one hand, parent can use punishment to change children behavior. Sometimes, children like to imitate actions they see or repeat the sentence they hear, though they do not know that these things are good or bad so we need to correct them. Take an example a boy can say bad words because he heard it from the mouth of the neighborhood some days ago, or he can do an ugly action because he saw it on television. In those cases, a small punishment is needed such as force the child stand next to the wall for a while, and it should have a moral afterward so the child understand that he did something wrong, and that wrong thing can lead to a worse consequence. So, sometimes punishment is a necessary activity to adjust children behavior.

On the other hand, punishment with no education purpose does not adjust children behavior. We should apply punishment without harmful for physic and mental. For example, many schools punish children by asking them run around the school. Some schools request children join community service as punishment. Such punishments are constructive for children’s health and society as well.

To conclude, I believe that punishment is one of effective way to educate children about right or wrong. However, parents and teachers must use constructive and positive punishments to adjust their behaviors.