It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do your agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Education is essential for all children in young age, and it is not limited to academic lessons but also includes teaching what is wrong and rights. However, some people believe that punishment has negative consequences, I think that some types of disciplines are necessary to complete this education.

In the olden time, teachers and parents used to use harsh punishments to teach children the good behavior and virtues. For instance, parents can use the physical punishment to discipline the child that this behavior is wrong. Although over the time the psychologists rejected physical punishment use, there is a particular type of penalty still recommended to make the child think twice before breaking the applied rules. Also, some studies support the penalty for any bad behavior in the youngest age create a good member in the society when they reach maturity.

It is agreed that the punishment should be used to teach not to intimidate a child. Therefore, there is degree and type of punishment used according to the behavior and the repetition of it. For example, in the first time of a mistake, the penalty is refusing to give a present, or restriction from playing with friends in free time or the use of electronic devices like mobile. As well as, when children commit the same awful act the penalty may be helping other classmates or teachers in the cleaning jobs.

To sum up, although, the punishment is a controversial topic, I believe that some sorts of punishments should be used to teach the children the distinction between the bad behaviors and the goodness.