It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents an

From my own perspective, I strongly agree for giving some punishments to children. However, adults must understand that there are several punishments which adversely affect a child’s psychological condition.

The purpose of punishment is helping children to control their behaviors so that they act according to their ideas of what is right and wrong, not because they are afraid of it. Basically, there are four kinds of punishment : physical punishment, verbal punishment, withholding rewards, and penalties. The first two kinds of punishment, physical and verbal, are not considered to be effective discipline methods. The other two, withholding rewards and giving penalties, can be used either as effective discipline methods or as punishment depending on how parents administer them.

Parents and teachers who use physical punishment are setting an example of using violence to settle problems or conflicts. When parents use this kind of punishment, children will imitate them and use violent act to settle their conflicts with others. Moreover, it makes the child hate himself and others. Harsh physical punishment and verbal abuse can never be justified as ways to dicipline children. Same with physical punishment, verbal abuse hurts the child’s self concept.

As conclusion, letting children experience the consequences of their decisions is better way to discipline young people. Children learn from experiences, just like adults. Parents should tell the child, before it happens, what the consequences are for breaking a rule. The child also needs to know the reason for the consequence; for example, it is extra work to keep food warm and inconsiderate of other family members.