It is important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that historical culture has a significant role to play in pupils’ lives. While I agree that international history should not be underestimated, I believe that the priority has to be given to national history.

There are some reasons why the children who study in school have to increase their knowledge about the historical events of their nation. Firstly, enhancing the information related to the past helps students know the ancestors who were killed or sacrificed their life to protect the country. As a result, the sense of patriotism and identity will strengthen among them, and children in the future will preserve their fatherland better. Secondly, when a child learns about his land, he cherishes the heroes who will be role models for him, and he appreciates the peace and freedom he has. Finally, the acts in the past act as a torch for the younger leaders of the future so they can have insight into the way they have to follow.

On the other hand, the world is a global village, so being aware of other countries in both historical and geographical aspects is essential. These days, it is better that every person broadens his horizon about the world because he might migrate to other nations in order to work or study. In addition, nationalism is a fact that no one can undermine. Thus, world history must be in the syllabi in schools, and learning the local historical value paves the way for knowing world history.

To conclusion, some people reckon that the schools have to prioritize the domestic culture in students’ schedule. Although having knowledge of all countries’ history brings some merits, I think that teachers have to put more weight on local history.