It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should only focus on people in their own countries. to what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people consider that helping all needy people in other countries is impossible so that the governments should only focus on helping people in their own country. In my opinion, I totally disagree with this point of view.

One reason is that It is possible to provide people in need with help due to the development of modern transportation. Technology nowadays allows government agencies and non-government organizations to provide aid within hours even to remote areas of the world. If it were not for these organizations, the consequences could be worse than we expected. For example, the recent tsunami in Japan left hundreds of thousands of people homeless and in desperate of food, but thanks to the advance of the technology, the response of governments around the world was immediate. Soon, food and equipment were delivered by air, along with medical staff and medicine.

Another reason is that It is true to share a moral responsibility to help those people who lack necessities. This help has no geographical boundaries and governments should consider this as their international obligation. It is unreasonable to place responsibility only on charities and international organizations such as UNICEF or Red Cross. Thus governments should not only provide international assistance as part of their budget and must also help these organizations in the financial problem.

In conclusion, although governments have many problems that they are dealing with in their own country, they also have the moral responsibility to fulfill the international obligation to people in need.